Skip to main content

Commission on Presidential Debates


The Commission on Presidential Debates is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization and has sponsored all general-election presidential and vice presidential debates since 1988.

On Sept. 10, the CPD announced that former presidents George W. Bush and Barack Obama had agreed to become honorary co-chairs of the CPD, joining former Presidents Gerald R. Ford, Jimmy Carter, and Ronald Reagan who have served in that role.

The CPD partners with institutions of higher education and other entities to host each debate. Each presidential election cycle, the CPD selects three host sites for a presidential debate and one for a vice presidential debate.